What is NEET exam?

National Eligibility Cum Entrance Test, which is in short called as NEET. This is a National Entrance Examination which offers the student admission in various Medical and Dental Colleges. The NEET replaced AIPMT, which was earlier proposed by CBSE (Central Board of Secondary Education) and MCI (Medical Council of India). The Exam offers an approx. of 90,000 seats (approx) in MBBS and BDS Colleges in India. Earlier, the CBSE was the conducting body of the NEET Exam, but now, the National Testing Agency (NTA) conducts the Entrance Exam. The Exam is conducted in the month of May every year.

What is its Eligibility Criteria?

The Eligibility Criteria is very important for the candidates before filling the application form. On the basis of the eligibility criteria, candidates will be selected for the further procedure.

  1. You need to have Physics, Chemistry, Biology/Biotechnology as their compulsory subjects in Class 10th and 12th and must have passed these subjects
  2. The Minimum Qualifying Percentage of Marks in Class 10th and 12th in these subjects varies from category to category. 50% for General Category, 45% for General-PH, 40% for SC/ST, and Reserved Category (Handicapped).
  3. Candidates who are qualifying in nature are also eligible to apply for NEET. For these candidates, they have to show their passing certificate at the time of the counseling round.
  4. Maths Marks are not considered in NEET Exam.
  5. Candidates must be Citizen of India, NRI, OCI.

Reservation of Seats

  1. 85% Seats are reserved for states counselling.
  2. 15% Seats are reserved for All India Counselling.

For participating in the State Quota Counselling (85% Seats), candidates must be a domicile of India, Must have their Residency Proof and must have passed Class 10th and 12th with minimum marks.

For All India Counselling, candidates must be a citizen of India with a minimum age of 18 years as on 31st December 2019 Recently, the NEET has removed the upper age limit criteria for the students. Students of any age can apply for the NEET.

Participating Institutes/Colleges

Some of the colleges that participate in NEET Entrance Examination are-

  • AFMC (Armed Forces Medical College)
  • BHU (Banaras Hindu University)
  • the University of Delhi and Jamia Hamdard University.

Exam Pattern of NEET

  • The NEET Exam from now onwards will be conducted online, CBT
  • The NEET Exam will be conducted in 11 Languages – English, Hindi, and 9 different languages (Marathi, Odia, Tamil, Marathi, Urdu Bengali, Telugu, Kannada, and Assamese.
  • The Total Time Duration of the Exam is 3 Hours.
  • Total Number of Questions – 180 Questions
  • Total Number of Marks- 720 Marks
  • The Exam Paper is divided into three sections – Physics, Chemistry and Biology (Botany and Zoology).
  • 4 marks for each correct answer, -1 for a wrong answer.

Qualifying Percentile

  • 50% for General Category
  • 45% for General-PH Category and
  • 40% for Reserved Category (SC/ST/OBC)

Books Recommended for NEET Exam Preparation

For Biology

  • NCERT Biology (Highly Recommended)
  • Objective Biology by Dinesh
  • Pradeep Publication’s Biology
  • GRB Bathla’s Publication’s for Biology

For Biology

  • NCERT Biology Book
  • Physical Chemistry by O.P. Tandon
  • Organic Chemistry by Morrison and Boyd for Organic Chemistry
  • Modern’s ABC of Chemistry for class 11th and 12th

For Physics

  • NCERT Physics (Part I and II)
  • The concept of Physics by H.C Verma
  • Fundamentals of Physics by Halliday, Resnick, and Walker

NEET Dress Code

The National Testing Agency has made strict rules on the dress code for the candidates while applying for the exam. Candidates have to follow the following dress code during NEET Exam.

The NEET is known to be one of the largest exam for offering Medical and Dental courses after AIIMS and JIPMER.

Language: NEET question paper will be bilingual in language, i.e. in English and Hindi both. Candidates will get their question paper in language preferred during filling up the application form.

Marking Scheme: Each question in NEET question paper will consist of 4 marks. For each correct response, candidates will get 4 marks, whereas -1 mark will be deducted for each incorrect response. No marks will be allotted for unmarked question.

Marking Scheme of NEET

Qualifying marks in NEET:

According to the official prospectus of NEET, in order to qualify NEET , a candidate belonging to unreserved category have to secure a minimum of 50th percentile in NEET, while, a SC/ST/OBC candidate have to obtain 40th percentile. In respect to physically handicapped candidate, the minimum percentile is 45th.

NEET qualifying marks

To get the more details of NEET VISIT ASKAADHEE